» » The Northern Pikes - Snow In June (1990)

Information of news
18-09-2015, 02:55

The Northern Pikes - Snow In June (1990)

Category: Music

The Northern Pikes - Snow In June (1990)

The Northern Pikes - Snow In June (1990)
EAC | FLAC | Tracks (Cue&Log) ~ 380 Mb (incl 5%) | Mp3 (CBR320) ~ 142 Mb (incl 5%) | Scans included
Genre: Rock | Label: Virgin Records Canada | # CDV3084 | Time: 00:56:43

Snow In June is the third major label album by The Northern Pikes released in 1990. It featured three hit singles - "Kiss Me You Fool", "She Ain't Pretty", and "Girl With a Problem". This was the band's most successful album and garnered them three nominations at the 1991 Juno Awards. The nominations were: Group of the Year, Single of the Year for "She Ain't Pretty", and Best Video for "She Ain't Pretty".
The Northern Pikes were founded in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan in 1983 out of the relics of three Canadian prairie bands -- the Idols, Seventeen Envelope, and Doris Daye. The band released two self-financed independent albums, The Northern Pikes and Scene in North America, which attracted the attention of Virgin Records Canada, then in the process of expanding and looking for Canadian acts. Signed to a six-album international deal in 1985, their major-label debut was Big Blue Sky, which contained the singles and videos "Teenland" and "The Things I Do for Money." In that same year, the band opened on tours by Duran Duran, David Bowie and the Fixx, vaulting them into international stardom. The band's next album, Secrets of the Alibi, was ignored by critics and given less than complimentary reviews, but British pop star Robert Palmer saw potential in the band and had them as opening slot on his 1989 North American tour. In 1990, Snow in June became their third major release; this album was sort of a comeback, boasting three Top 40 hits in "She Ain't Pretty," "Girl with a Problem," and "Kiss Me You Fool." This album pulled out all the stops with mixes by Hugh Padgham and Bob Clearmountain and production by Rick Hutt, Fraser Hill and the Pikes themselves. The album also had an impressive roster special guest performers, including Garth Hudson (the Band) and John Sebastian (Lovin' Spoonful). Despite all of the attention the album received, Virgin America passed on its U.S. release, and the band ended up having it released by Scotti Brothers in 1991. The album would go on to sell double platinum, much to Virgin's loss. In 1992, the band released the album Neptune to very little fanfare, as their popularity began to dwindle. The album sank without a trace, but at the end of 1993 they released a live album called Gig, with songs taken from a set of the band's last shows together. In 1993, bandleader Jay Semko quit in frustration and the Northern Pikes were no more.


01. Dream Away (04:41)
02. Love These Hands (04:11)
03. Kiss Me You Fool (04:24)
04. She Ain't Pretty (02:43)
05. Tomorrow Never Comes (04:52)
06. Shadow of Doubt (05:03)
07. Shotgun Morning (03:55)
08. Isn't It Lovely (06:18)
09. Unimportant (02:41)
10. Am I In Your Way (03:46)
11. Girl With A Problem (03:59)
12. Green Fields (04:07)
13. Snow In June (05:57)

Password: designol
Download link:
Links are Interchangeable - Single Extraction - Premium is support resumable



Site BBcode/HTML Code:
Dear visitor, you went to the site as unregistered user.
We recommend you Sign up or Login to website under your name.
Would you like to leave your comment? Please Login to your account to leave comments. Don't have an account? You can create a free account now.

Tag Cloud

archive of news

free html hit counter